Metropolitan Homesick Blues

Southampton Stories & Other Stuff

Archive for February 3rd, 2009

Southampton Sign

with 2 comments

In my January 21 blog – Gateway – Signs of the Times I lamented the state of sign design in Saugeen Shores.  What concerned me most was the fact that the current design project initiated by Bruce Tourism for the two test communities, Port Elgin and Southampton, did not understand the long-standing image of either town.

I was concerned, mostly, for Southampton because that’s where I live. I, and many other residents, believe that the existing sign says it all. Simply take what is there and redesign it for the times and the flexibility of today’s media. In that blog I also suggested that,” the lighthouse defines the town.”

There were others, with more influence than a lowly blogger such as I, who felt the same. The challenge fell into the capable hands of Mike Myatt, Director of Community Services for Saugeen Shores, and Brad Smith who has lived in the area for the past two years.  Their collaboration has produced the perfect result.

The Oldest Port on the Bruce Coast

The Oldest Port on the Bruce Coast

Their proposed Southampton logo emulates the old and existing sign. It is a fresh new outlook…and it conveys the character of Southampton perfectly.

The Chantry Island concept with lighthouse and keeper’s house silhouetted against the sky with birds flying overhead catches the essence of Southampton’s main attraction.  All it needs now is the addition of “The Oldest Port on the Bruce Coast” line and their work is done. 

  

The Saugeen Times (http://saugeentimes.com) reports that the design will now move forward to Town Council and then to the signage designers, Corbin Design, to be incorporated into the signage strategy.

If they want my opinion I’d say “approved!” Now, let’s move forward with it. Summer is just around the corner.