Metropolitan Homesick Blues

Southampton Stories & Other Stuff

Southampton North End Sewer Project!

with 2 comments

There was once grass, greenery and trees where you now see piles of dirt and puddles of mud from the rain that fell last night and today.

I live on an easement that belongs to the town. They, until now, paid no attention to it. For the last 5 years I’ve spent time, energy and money in turning it from a place where weeds flourished to a reasonable lawn that compliments the rest of my property.

We have no idea how – or when – they will make this right…whether they will seed it or let it weed. I suspect they will quickly grade it in some fashion and forget it.

I’ve sweated the summer sun cutting the grass, seeding and fertilizing – at my own expense as my neighbours have. We’ve done the town’s landscaping and paid taxes at the same time. They did nothing.

Now one of the ten construction crews with excavators, back hoes, rumbling dump trucks, pipes and lots more have destroyed everything, mature trees, plants, the deer run and foliage… in the name of sewer expansion…a project that doesn’t benefit me but residents of Southampton’s North End. I’m not happy about it. But, I guess that’s my problem.

And even they don’t want it given the taxes they will have to pay.

A lot of our town’s North End is an ugly shambles due to the construction.

Stimulus Funding from Mr. Harper’s Action Plan and Provincial coffers dictate that the project must be completed by March end of 2011. It should be an interesting winter.

Progress in the name of urbanization can have a negative effect…particularly on nature.

Written by metropolitanhomesickblues

July 24, 2010 at 9:17 PM

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Well, I guess the good news is that the digging will eventually stop, and then you can go back to your gardening.
    Think of the poor folks that have a gravel pit spring up in their back yard.
    It will be there for the rest of their lives, and the property they bought in good faith with the better part of their life savings is now distressed beyond recognition.
    Water and sewage are big things these days after the Walkerton fiasco. I’ll bet we’ve sen the end of the days of the new subdivision with septic tanks…..

    Dan Ostler

    July 24, 2010 at 11:17 PM

    • I’m ranting…
      “Good Faith…” I hope the town has the “good faith,” to clean up their mess after them. Right now the easement behind & beside us is basically a mud flat…perfect for ATV folks. I have an excavator parked outside my bedroom window. Yes, in time it will all go away. And I will do the maintenance of the town’s property once more…in good faith. I feel for those who bought more than they bargained for.

      metropolitanhomesickblues

      July 25, 2010 at 6:34 AM


Leave a Reply

