Metropolitan Homesick Blues

Southampton Stories & Other Stuff

PICTURES OF ALASKA

with 2 comments

The Columbia River Bar was behind us. We were well away on the downhill run to San Francisco, moving at 17 knots before a following sea. Grey skies minimized visibility. This far out, though, there really was nothing to look at except steep swells. But Regatta rode them with little effort. We’ve sailed over 3974 nautical miles. It was well worth the trip. The Captain said we’d be under the Golden Gate Bridge and past Alcatraz Island around 5:30 AM. I was awake but the usual morning fog probably didn’t help with the view.

A blast from the ship’s horn stired me out of my half sleep. The falling tether lines were loud enough to wake me completely. A tug pushed a large barge right under our balcony with steely bang. Diesel fumes rose up into our stateroom. They are refueling the ship. In a couple of hours it sails for the Panama Canal. We have been instructed to disembark no later than 9:00 AM and that’s that. What will stay with me when I’m back on shore and homeward bound? Pictures….

Written by metropolitanhomesickblues

September 22, 2011 at 5:34 PM

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Beautiful photos. That’s the way I see the world by the way, by looking at all the pictures on internet site. Glad you enjoyed the journey. And as far as life is concerned, I know you will keep on travelling.
    Just waiting for Connie here. Think I covered everything to be done. Knowing me, I’ve probably forgotten something but I don’t think there’s any mixed up. So far as I know, the show is ready to go.
    Take care, Loreen.

    poeticinteraction

    September 23, 2011 at 4:04 PM

    • Pictures, and memories, Ed. Don’t forget those. And I remembered one last thing. I air-freshened the whole house, and I’ve kept the patio doors open all day. All should be well. Take care. Loreen.

      poeticinteraction

      September 23, 2011 at 4:37 PM


Leave a Reply

