Metropolitan Homesick Blues

Southampton Stories & Other Stuff

MAYBE IT’S ME!

with 2 comments

“You have notifications pending.”

The message popped into my email inbox. It felt like a reprimand from one of my high school teacher/priests. Recently I logged out of Facebook because I saw no reason to waste my time there. (No offense to all my ‘friends’). Still the notifications and comments come. I thought I was done with all that. Obviously membership in that social network is like membership in a street gang or the mafia…you’re never out completely.

On top of that, I’ve spent the last few days playing catch up with the planned obsolesce thrust upon anyone who owns any device from Apple. In order to stay connected I’ve had to download upgrades for my laptop, desktop, iTouch, iPad and iPhone (yes, I have all the toys) or be left behind. Without the latest operating systems I would be lost to the world, forbidden a fully functional roll in the ether or should I say The Cloud. Because I failed to stay up to date some of my files were rendered unsupportable: believe me the feelings of loss, anger and frustration were palpable. There are too many passwords to remember.

‘Simplify, simplify, simplify,’ said Mr. D, Thoreau. What with so many applications, so many games and so many sites pushing so much information there is too much to keep up with and no time to keep things simple.

Twitter has trivialized the world. In 140 characters the detritus of people’s lives, the superficial urgings of private agendas spills on to your screen. The only ways to stop it is to unfollow or log out.

Yes, we have the choice of being there or not. I am probably one tiny squeaky negative voice in the vast multitude. The irony in this is that I maintain this blog. And I’m writing this post…complaining. 

And this is nothing new. Back in 1807 William Wordworth reacted to the first Industrial Revolution with this sonnet: He was right then and he’s still right. OK. I’ll stop now.

THE WORLD IS TOO MUCH WITH US       

The world is too much with us; late and soon,

Getting and spending, we lay waste our powers:

Little we see in Nature that is ours;

We have given our hearts away, a sordid boon!

The Sea that bares her bosom to the moon;

The winds that will be howling at all hours,

And are up-gathered now like sleeping flowers;

For this, for everything, we are out of tune;

It moves us not. Great God! I’d rather be

A Pagan suckled in a creed outworn;

So might I, standing on this pleasant lea,

Have glimpses that would make me less forlorn;

Have sight of Proteus rising from the sea;

Or hear old Triton blow his wreathed horn.

 

Written by metropolitanhomesickblues

November 20, 2011 at 5:21 PM

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great post thanks. I really enjoyed it very much.

    Love writing? We would love for you to join us!

    – Writers Wanted –

    Writing Jobs

    November 21, 2011 at 12:27 AM

  2. Hi Ed. Just paying you a visit, and thought I’d comment on this post, after reviewing the others. I love the way you speak about nature. I also fully appreciate your perspective on the internet ‘trappings’. But as you said, I’m here too. All the best. Glad you are getting offers to extend your involvement. Loreen.

    poeticinteraction

    May 21, 2012 at 10:31 AM


Leave a Reply

