Metropolitan Homesick Blues

Southampton Stories & Other Stuff

TOO MANY TOMATOES = PIZZA

with one comment

Most everyone who plants a garden plants tomatoes. I’m no different. Each year I’ve put in tomatoes of varying varieties and each year I’m rewarded with the same problem…I’ve grown more than I need. When you try to give them away, friends turn you down with warm thanks and a smile. They have the same problem.

This past summer I outsmarted myself by only cultivating two plants, one a yellow, grape-style and the other a meaty, yellow Carolina Gold. Again, I have more than I need. Needless to say we are including them in just about every meal, which after a while gets a touch boring. So the other night we decided to purge.

My daughter had given us an excellent recipe for Asparagus Pizza. “Why not,” I thought, “swap out the asparagus for grape tomatoes. How difficult could that be?” We got a little creative and added some ingredients of our own. Here’s the recipe.

Make or buy the pizza dough (We buy and roll our own with great results)

  • ½ pound of cherry tomatoes
  • ¼ cup grated Parmigiano Reggiano (The real stuff)
  • ½ pound of mozzarella, shredded or cut into small cubes
  • 2 teaspoons olive oil
  • ½ teaspoon coarse salt
  • Several grinds black pepper
  • 1 or 2 scallions thinly sliced
  • A few drops of lemon juice
  • Prosciutto – 5 or 6 slices diced and lightly fried.
  • Pinch of red pepper flakes
  • Basil leaves – about ten, rolled then sliced
  • Black olives – sliced, no pits please
  • Set oven at 450.

Halve tomatoes and get rid of the seeds (which can be messy). All you need is the flesh of the tomato. Toss tomatoes, olive oil, olives, salt, pepper, red pepper and mix gently to coat. Roll or stretch your pizza dough to a 12-inch round. Roll dough on to a corn meal dusted pan. Sprinkle dough with parmigianno, then mozzarella. Pile the tomato mix on top (artfully distributed) and bake 12 to15 minutes or until the edges are browned or cheese is bubbly.

Remove from oven and immediately sprinkle with scallions, lemon juice, prosciutto, basil and slice.

Mangia bene!

Written by metropolitanhomesickblues

September 8, 2012 at 3:05 PM

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Ed, I love your approach and I envy you the climate to grow the tomatoes. I will be posting my tomato sauce and pizza attempt (part of the French series) in a week or so. I really approve of the late additionsto the pizza. The pizzas must be delicious.
    Best,
    Conor

    Conor Bofin

    September 8, 2012 at 4:14 PM


Leave a Reply

